Jul 9: Getting my second wind

workoutI’ve started to run.  I’m 42 years old and have never run before, but I decided I needed to learn how to run.  What on EARTH was I thinking?

I’ve run three times this week and during each of these runs I have a moment (usually when I’m gasping for air and thinking, “I’m going to die!”) that I cross the more than 50% point of the workout and all of a sudden, I seem to get a second wind.

It’s crazy – it makes no sense – yet there I am running at the end and excited to hear the little harp sound that the phone app plays to say, “You can walk now.”  Hooray!  I didn’t die!

Today, I ran 2.3 miles in 30 minutes.  I’ve never done that in my whole life.  I don’t care if you’re a marathon runner.  I don’t care if you are a biathlete.  Me, Sheryl Brown, I just ran 2.3 miles.  Woot!

As I go through this exercise program I started looking at my work and realizing that the second wind I get during my run has transcended to my work.  I already love my job, but I find the more I exercise – – the more zest I have for my job!

I encourage you today to start looking for your second wind.  It could be exercise.  It could be crafts.  It could be watching old movies.  Whatever it is, find what gives you added energy and then make it happen!

One thought on “Jul 9: Getting my second wind

Leave a Reply

