Aug 20: Nerves of steel

worryI speak at dozens of events each year and yet I still get the butterflies each time I go before a crowd of people.  Seems silly, doesn’t it?  I mean, really – we are all just people.  By now, shouldn’t I be more like Alfred E. Neuman and his intellectually uncurious motto of, “What, me worry?”

From the depths of an office basement, corners of coffee shops and in the comfort of pajamas and blankets – that is usually how I engage with others.  It’s definitely not in gussied-up outfits, in front of a group of respected colleagues, amplifying the intensity social media brings to our different practices in the financial services profession.  [I sense those butterflies fluttering around me…]

The reality is that I don’t have nerves of steel, many of us lack this.  What I do have is a giant helping of confidence sprinkled with a little bravery to go out and talk to people about something I know a little more than the average person does about using the social platforms to do “Human to human marketing.”  It’s my own recipe du jour.

This is part of that Kingdom Purpose I spoke about the other day; I like to help others.  If getting up in front of a group of people to tell a story about how to help others gets the job done, then I’m there – I’m your girl.  [I’m uncomfortable, but I push myself to do it.]  I believe the world needs more contributors.  I’m a “doer, a person of action – it’s one of my strengths.  At the same time, I’m a naturally flawed person – and I do not have nerves of steel.

Let the butterflies start fluttering…

Sheryl Brown / @BionicSocialite

Leave a Reply

