Aug 26: Are you sacrificing the gift?

talentsYou know what I bet?  I bet you’re good at lots of things, but I really bet you’re GREAT at one or two things.  You know why?  We are all given talents to use to serve others, which ultimately pacifies our internal quest for purpose.

As an example, I’ve always enjoyed being a helpful and social person.  Happiness for me comes when I help someone out.  I can also strike up a conversation with just about anyone.  Ironically, I had to wait until my 40’s to find my gifts would be best used in social media.  But those gifts were always inside of me.  We each have unique strengths.

Here’s the tricky thing about gifts.  They can be equally used to harm as much as they are used to help.  You must consciously decide to go the high road with your abilities.  That’s sometimes really hard to do, especially if you’re aggravated – hurt – or bitter.

What about those who have unused talents?  Steve Prefontaine is quoted as saying, “To give anything less than your best is to sacrifice the gift.”  I see this a lot with people; gifts squandered.

You must be ready to get down-and-dirty and audit what you’re good at – make the list, it’s not conceited.  You have greatness within you, make the list!  Make sure you consciously understand that you must use these gifts to help others, not yourself.  That’s tough – it really is.  You will gain greater satisfaction if you choose to do the right thing.  As crazy as it sounds, I must remind you to use these gifts.  Just like an athlete, they do a WHOLE lot of practicing with their talents, so should you.

What are you doing with the talents you have been given?  Are you sacrificing the gift?

Sheryl Brown / @BionicSocialite

 

Leave a Reply

