Aug 27: Listen to your heart

heartWho remembers the group, Roxette?   I LOVED them! 

Listen to your heart
When he’s calling for you
Listen to your heart
There’s nothing else you can do
I don’t know where you’re going
And I don’t know why
But listen to your heart
Before you tell him goodbye

Do you realize that what we say comes not from our head, but from our heart?  If you’re a bitter person with gnashing teeth, filling the air with words of sarcasm, that’s what’s in your heart.  Did you ever notice how some people, no matter how trying their circumstances might be, can fill a room with joy and sunshine?  It’s because that’s what’s in their heart.

I’m naturally a storyteller.  I like to connect with others through stories that are funny, purposeful, serious, etc. but those stories now come from my heart – not my head.  Being social allows me to use my talents to connect with others in a different way – but it’s always from my heart now.

It took a long time to change my heart to be the person I am today.  There was a period of time where I was not happy inside and being a social person – yeesh.  I wouldn’t have wanted to be around me during those darker times!  (Thank you to my friends who stuck it out! though – I love you!)  After examining what was in my heart and spending more time on finding my purpose and talents, I’ve been able to fill my heart with lots of good and it comes out in what I share with others.

I challenge you to go back and read your last month of Facebook statuses or Twitter tweets.  Were they mostly happy thoughts or bitter / depressed / angry / spiteful / vengeful / nasty thoughts?  That was the trick that did it for me – – I couldn’t believe some of the stuff I use to post.  It’s because it all came from a bad heart.

Listen to you heart…

Sheryl Brown / @BionicSocialite

 

Leave a Reply

