Sep 30: You were created for connections

connectedI am a connector.

You will hear me say this over and over and over again.  My first clue should have been when I was a child.  We would go to restaurants and when other kids were drawing on the back of their placemats, I would quickly turn mine over and start drawing the board game for The Dot Game (you might also call it Pigs in a Pen.)  My father always appeased my love of this game and would patiently play this game of connecting dots with me.  He never let me win either.  He made me work for my wins – – and I became VERY good at playing this game too!

I’ve spent a great amount of time examining my life from inside to outside and everything I do is about connecting.  It’s my life’s passion to connect.  I enjoy connecting people, connecting ideas, connecting teams, etc.  Where I continue to be challenged is to find how to make my passion become my life’s purpose.   I believe I’m on my way with how I use social media and where I spend my career life, but there is always more to learn and lots of trolls to navigate along the journey.

One of the most beautiful parts about being a human is how much we need to connect with each other.  You can say you don’t need anyone, but we all know that simply isn’t true.  Over the course of a day, I come up with so many people who are good at so many different things. I then connect those needing each other’s help.  It’s gratifying to me!

LinkedIn, Facebook, Twitter, etc. are all perfect examples of our need to connect with someone else.  It can be as personal or professional; as occasional to every moment as we want too.  You were created for connections!

Take each day and look at the unique friends, family, colleagues that you connect with and see how their skills could overlap into another’s area.  It’s part of your job to bring people together.  Connect people, places, ideas and thoughts to make the richest experience you can have in life.  You won’t be disappointed.

Sheryl Brown / @BionicSocialite

Leave a Reply

