Oct 03: Imagine that today was your last day

helpingSounds like a cruel introduction, but I need you to take that thought very seriously:  Imagine that today was your last day.  What mattered to you most while you were alive?  What was your greatest memory?  How will people remember you?  Will family be ok financially upon your exit?

I’ve always said I would be honest with my readers.  Here are my answers to these difficult questions:

– God and my family are what matter most to me.  They are the foundation of my life.  If I lived my life correctly, then I believe I’m going to live with God forever after I die, so missing my family is very hard to accept.

– My greatest memory would be listening to my father tell me how proud he was of me as a child and as an adult.  My mother died when she was just 39 years of age so when I turned 39, my father took me to my mother’s favorite lake at Busch Wildlife in Missouri and told me how much she loved me and how proud she would have been of the person I became.  I still get teary-eyed thinking of that day.

– I think people would remember how much joy I received in helping other people.  I wanted nothing but an abundance of happiness for them.  I worked hard each day to make sure others knew I was thinking of them.

– I have some of my financial planning in place, but not nearly enough of it is done.  I keep thinking I have time to work on “that” – – and then I left other “stuff” get in the way.  If the people in my life are so important, how is this “stuff” getting in the way?

You see, I watched a 21-year-old friend of my daughter’s last night find out that his father (an avid runner) who was about 45 years old die of a heart attack on the side of the road.  Imagine that – taking care of yourself and dying alone on the side of the road.  I had just spoken to this young man about working on a house for Habitat for Humanity this coming weekend.  He was chipper and life was great.  When everyone in their family got up yesterday, I assure you that the father’s heart attack was not on their to-do list.  Time is always borrowed.  Remember this!  TIME IS ALWAYS BORROWED!!!

Please imagine that today was your last day.  It’s hard – it’s not fun – I find it to be very scary and brings tears to my eyes immediately, but we must be courageous enough to put our own feelings aside and plan for those we love.  They are going to be heart-broken.  They will grieve your death, don’t make it worse by leaving a legacy of debt and financial strife.  That is one burden you can alleviate by getting your financial matters in order…right now.

Sheryl Brown / @BionicSocialite

Dedicated to Corey Vebert on the loss of his father, Chris Vebert, October 1, 2013.  May you understand that God has a purpose and we are incredibly sorry for your loss. 

 

 

Leave a Reply

