Oct 14: Drivin’ My Life Away

I got up at 4:15am this morning and drove myself straight to our YMCA here in Fort Wayne.  I was joining a colleague for my first spin class at 5am.  Forty-five minutes later and so saddle sore that I thought I wouldn’t be able to walk [keeping it real!] and I got in the car to hear this song by Eddie Rabbitt.  I started humming along, tapping my feet and by the middle of the song I was in full duet with Eddie [poor guy because I can’t sing worth a lick!]

When the song ended, I realized I was on this endorphin high from the spin class, but I wanted to be sure I wasn’t drivin’ my life away either!  I am so deconditioned because I pour so much of myself into my job and not enough into taking care of myself.  Counterproductive if you think about it from the long-term perspective, eh?

Last week I attended a social media and content marketing conference.  Although there is not an exact science here, I did somewhat ‘poll’ some of the more successful social media rock stars and asked them how they balance everything.  Every one of them said they had a component of unplugging that involved exercise.  Hmm.  Maybe there is something to that, so today was my day to emulate my celebrity friends.

…and I did it.  I can’t believe I did 45 minutes of up and down fast and slow on a spin bike.  I really did it!  I wasn’t great at it, but I kept that bike moving for 45 minutes which was my goal.  My next goal is keep it moving and add a little more resistance.  Baby steps….or baby spins rather.

This class spins on Monday, Wednesday and Thursdays and I really want to keep at it.  I told everyone around me to please hold me accountable too.  I don’t know about you, but I need that extra push!

Look at those who are successful in your area of expertise.  What are they doing to keep themselves healthy?  Are you doing everything you can to keep yourself going in a positive direction or are you drivin’ your life away?

Sheryl Brown / @BionicSocialite

 

 

Leave a Reply

