Oct 21: Release

volcanoI’m pretty normal.  I get upset.  I am passionate.  I am intense.  However, I know all that pent-up “yuck” needs a release and whether it’s personal or professional angst, I do not do this on the social channels.  It just doesn’t look or feel good to anyone.

Maybe I am just “lucky” to be able to come do a job I absolutely love each day – but it’s not all unicorns and pixie dust, folks.  Who are we kidding?  I have two 18-year-old and 15-year-old girls living in my house.  I have my share of drama!  It’s not online though – it’s in the privacy of our home, our car, etc. [ok – maybe it might be in the shampoo aisle at Kroger on occasion, but you get my point.]

Find the proper release for those frustrations, aggravations, etc.  Take a class at your local YMCA.  Go ride your bike around the block.  Have lunch with a friend.  Whatever you do, do not turn to Facebook, Twitter, etc. to throw-up on everyone about your crappy moment.  It only makes you momentarily feel better and worse?  All your posts look like passive-aggressive pleas for attention.  Oh, no – not pretty!  You’re better than this!  I just know it!

Social media has the ability to make good things great and bad things worse.  I am aiming for greatness, how about you?

Sheryl Brown / @BionicSocialite

Leave a Reply

