Oct 22: Just can’t spare a square

toilet paperDid you ever watch Seinfeld?  I miss it so much.  If you know what episode this is from, you’ll laugh.  If not, go to YouTube and watch it; you’ll chuckle too.  All-in-all though, I’m not really excited about people with the “Just can’t spare a square…” mentality.  [Now hitting pretend #DislikeButton.]

We are all busy.  Personal lives packed with work, family obligations, chores, etc.  Professional lives packed with deadlines, profit concerns, business growth, etc.  I get it, we are all busy.

But… and not the ‘butt’ you need for that square of toilet paper there, but the ‘but’ as in a conjunction [which by the way means the action or an instance of two or more events or things occurring at the same point in time or space] can’t we just spare a square of time to pay it forward in some way to benefit the greater good of whatever part of our profession is so we all reap bigger rewards? [Deep breath, I know that’s a run-on sentence.]  I mean, can’t we find time to help each other out?

I find I enjoy donating my personal time to events in our local community because it feels ‘right’.  For instance, I’m really excited about an ambassador position I am filling with a local clothing bank to help meet some children’s needs through our work.  At the same time, I also enjoy donating some of my professional time to teach others in the financial services community about how to use social media in a way that amplifies their voice, brings more awareness to the greater good advisors fill and helping advisors find their “why”.  It not only feels ‘right’ but I’m meeting one of my professional goals which is to make a difference.

The next time you find yourself in a situation where you think your services could benefit someone else and you are reluctant to give your time or talent, I challenge you to stop and fill that need.  You will feel amazing afterwards because you paid it forward.  #SpareTheSquare

Sheryl Brown / @BionicSocialite

 

Leave a Reply

