Feb 11: Hi-Ho Kermit The Frog Here

Feb 11 Kermit the FrogI’m grateful for growing up with Channel 9.  Not sure about you, but that was PBS for us in St. Louis and they had some righteous shows on there.  Electric Company, Captain Kangaroo and Sesame Street.

Sesame Street was BOSS when I was a kid.  Everyone had a favorite.  I was particularly fond of Grover, but who did I respect the most?  Absolutely it was Kermit the Frog.  That dude knew who he was and wore it out there for you to see.

The lesson with Kermit was simple:  be yourself.  This is really important with social media.  I’m 42 years old right now.  I can’t even begin to tell you all the new music groups out there.  My heels have come down a few inches as I don’t need to wobble around in stilettos anymore.  I’m a middle-aged woman with three children, two grandchildren and enjoy reading, writing and bacon.  I’m not as hip anymore, but man am I great resource of help and friendship.

I’m transparent.  What you see is what you get.  My time and talents are not for everyone and that’s OK.  Guess what?  It should be that way for you too.  It’s so hard too.  You don’t want anyone to see your flaws, but those are what make you the great person you are today.  As Ann Handley from MarketingProfs says, “Be Flawsome!

Know who you are and own it.  A customer might not agree with everything, but they respect anyone who wears their personality on their sleeve.  It makes it so much easier for them to get to know you, develop an interest so they can like you and ultimately trust you as a business partner.

 Embrace your inner Kermit.  Afterall, it ain’t easy being green!

Sheryl Brown / @BIONICsocialite

Leave a Reply

