Tober the Cat…what #FinancialServices can learn from him!

ToberEarlier this year in February, my husband and I rented a beautiful cabin in the middle of Dull’s Tree Farm in Thorntown, Indiana.  Imagine waking up in the morning surrounded by thousands of Christmas trees – it was breathtaking.  One of my hobbies includes visiting the public libraries of every town I see.  When I read about the Thorntown Public Library and their resident cat, Tober, it was a must see event!

I walked into the library and was greeted by the nicest women working there.  They gave me a tour of the library and provided some history about the town.  I encourage everyone to go and pay them a visit!  Yet, in all the nice exchanges and laughs, they all knew why I was really there:  on a quest to see Tober.

Tober is a personable little fella.  He was sitting on a desk in the office and I was warned that he doesn’t always cooperative in getting his photo taken.  My husband assured them that I have the magic touch when it comes to animals (and it is one of my God-given talents, honestly).  Tober and I settled into a little conversation, getting to know one another…my husband handled the picture-taking.  As you can see, the meeting went very well.

We can learn a lot about financial services through this experience.  Given the right mix of helpful and gregarious staff, a little fun facts and figures, as well as providing a unique offering, people will travel often and far to experience something wonderful.  [Ever heard of Disneyland?]

What are you doing to make sure people want to come to your practice?  Would they travel further to come and have an experience with you and your staff?  What changes do you need to make to provide this type of atmosphere?  Many of us need to contemplate how to freshen up our value proposition to attract others to want to do business with us.

Channel your inner Tober and get crackin’ on some changes.  It will do your practice good!

Be bigger, better and more BIONIC today!

Sheryl Brown / @BIONICsocialite

Leave a Reply

