Why are so-called “experts” soliciting #SocialMedia services to advisors like an infomercial?

Do not bully financial advisors!Wait just a second – I have to check my blood pressure.  As an insurance advisor, I’m viscerally protective of my financial service friends – especially when it comes to so called “experts” soliciting social media services.  Like a mother bear with her cubs – I’m watching out for our community of professionals!

I recently received an email from someone promoting a social media workshop.  In it, she has three bullet points that outline [and I counted them!] 14 things an advisor should be doing in social media today to be “successful”.  THEN, adds 4 more things they should learn but ends it by saying “...without exhausting yourself.

Are you for real?  I’m exhausted just reading this crap, much less doing 18 things in total to be successful by someone else’s measure.  Let me get this straight – an advisor is supposed to do ALL of this stuff as well as meet with clients, handle an office with all its paperwork and manage staff, etc.

…without exhausting yourself.  Sigh.

Aren’t financial service professionals already exhausted?  Between FINRA, SEC and other compliance parameters, navigating the course through social media can be exhausting.  Piling on a bunch of additional crap that is laced with a smidgen of guilt [about doing this stuff to be successful] does not help advisors understand the power of social media.  It promotes apathy.  If there is one thing we do not like in financial services, it’s apathy.

My advice?  Trust your gut instinct.  If what you can manage is a Facebook account where you connect with your clients and talk – WOOT!  You’re successful!  If you can manage a Twitter account where you follow your clients and their conversations – WOOT!  You’re successful.  Are you on LinkedIn, keeping it updated and connecting with folks – WOOT!  Success in social media is defined by YOU, not any “expert” who tries to get you to mold to their definition of success.

Be bigger, better and more BIONIC today!

Sheryl Brown / @BIONICsocialite

2 thoughts on “Why are so-called “experts” soliciting #SocialMedia services to advisors like an infomercial?

  1. You have such a passion for people and it shows. I am a bit concerned about a few points here, though your desire to be truly helpful isn’t one.

    Did this person call themselves an expert in the email pitch? Even If they did, I don’t feel that bashing them is helpful. It certainly doesn’t prove that they don’t provide value or know what they are talking about. People call you and I experts all the time–which I hate to be called in part for this very reason–and I’d take someone to task if they called you out in a derogatory way based on a difference of opinion on how something should be done. The general public, reporters, and business owners don’t care about our professional disdain for this nomenclature. They are just looking for someone to solve their problem and answer their questions. I don’t use the term myself, but I am so over this in-fighting.

    Two, eight, eighteen? Was it really crap or just excessive? Time is the enemy, I get it, but people who do the work get rewarded. I’m going to leave it at that because for the most part I agree with you, I just feel there is a nuanced mixed message here that for some may do as much harm as asking them to do too much. I’d rather chat about it over lunch though.

    • Hello Kevin and thanks for commenting. This person refers to themselves as an ‘expert’ in the email, their LinkedIn and website. (YUCK! I am NOT an expert and we’ve had this discussion several times about the dislike of this label.) I mean, who actually qualifies any person as an “expert”? If I were truly bashing them, I would name them in my blog posting, which of course I would never do. I’m bashing the practice of telling financial advisors to do hoards of things in social media in order to be “successful”. That’s just crappy advice all around. There is no magical number to be successful and if someone is truly an expert at working with financial advisors, they would know 18 things are overwhelming and many advisors will choose apathy over action in those instances. Financial Services is my sweet spot after 25 years. I know these people well. I love them and respect the art of their work. Appreciate that you took time to read this and to offer an opinion.

Leave a Reply

