…reflections on a legend: Bob Benmosche #RIP

bob benmoscheLast year, plus a couple of weeks, I had the good fortune to meet Bob Benmosche in Naples, Florida.  The theme at the Ash Brokerage Spring Summit was about Vision and who better to have that talk than Bob, right?

What continues to baffle me, even though I work in life insurance and know these things happen, is wondering if there was any way we could have had the vision to know this would be the last time we would see or hear from this financial services legend?

How I met Bob was somewhat haphazard though.  He gave this awesome presentation where he spoke about the AIG bailout and subsequent comeback.  He was larger than life and powerful with words.

Bob had the whole room in the palm of his giant hand and after he was done and while the whole crowd was chatting and feeling good about our industry and what we represented collectively, he simply slipped past the attendees into the hallway of the Ritz-Carlton…where I was trying to privately battle a horrible cough. How embarrassing!

2014-02-20 07.53.19

Without missing a beat, Bob made eye contact with me as I apologized for my coughing fit to him and he stopped and said, “No problem.  We all get sick.  I hope you feel better.”  He patted me on the shoulder and kept walking.  Such a small and very human gesture.

I will never forget that moment.

Saturday morning I heard the news of Bob Benmosche’s passing.  The financial services industry lost an incredible warrior.  He fought for what was just and fair…and he won!

No truer words have been shared:  “You have to focus on living.” – Bob Benmosche, #RIP [click-to-tweet]

Be bigger, better and more BIONIC today.

Sheryl Brown / @BIONICsocialite

One thought on “…reflections on a legend: Bob Benmosche #RIP

Leave a Reply

