#RANT: Don’t you ever do this!

Rant Rant RantLast week was my birthday!  I turned 44 years old and was amazed by how many people reached out on LinkedIn, Twitter and Facebook to wish me incredible blessings in the coming years.  Thank you to all who made my day –  I was honored!

Through all these incredible blessings received….you guessed it.  I received the below message and immediately wanted to make sure you knew….Don’t you ever do this!  Incoming #RANT!

never do this.png

You see, Terry and I have never met.  This was someone who requested a connection on LinkedIn.  I accepted as she is connected to one other person I know well, so I thought I would check it out and see if we had anything in common, except the only two messages she has sent me is about her business.  Not once has she tried to get to know me (remember SHE friend requested ME on LinkedIn, not the other way around).  Who does this?

The operative word in the term “social media’ is social.  This is where you chat and get to know people.  Do you think this person would walk into a dinner, meet someone for the first time and say, “Contact us for a free 15 min consultation for career coaching!“?  If she did do that, wouldn’t you walk away and think, “Weirdo!”   So why do people think this is OK to do on anyone’s LinkedIn, Twitter or Facebook?  It’s not ok!

Please, don’t ever do this!  For goodness sake, be human!  Get to know people and once you’ve developed a base in that relationship, then you have the ground to stand on to talk about your business.  No one should ever just go in and start selling you – that just feels slimy and is a huge turnoff.

If you have questions on ways you can reach out to new folks – ask me.  I’m more than happy to help you get your foot in the door with people.  The above message is most certainly NOT the way to do it.

Be bigger, better and more BIONIC today!

Sheryl Brown / @BIONICsocialite

Leave a Reply

